Even Though

Even Though

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me (Psalm 23:4, ESV).These are some of the most familiar words ever written: “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me.” They also ring with courage. In the original Hebrew, the phrase “the shadow of death” is one word depicting a deep ravine through which a shepherd would lead his sheep in order to take them to better pasture. On that treacherous walk, a time would come when the cliff walls became so narrow and sheer that the very sunlight was blocked out.

002i053p06c

Leave a Reply

